Shortlist announced for the Spirit of Fire Awards 2014

Recognising bravery within the fire community

The shortlist for the 2014 Spirit of Fire Awards, organised by The Fire Fighters Charity, has been announced, and includes a number of exceptionally brave and dedicated finalists who have been nominated for the following ten categories:

Fire Service of the Year

• Bedfordshire Fire and Rescue Service
• Cornwall Fire and Rescue Service
• Cumbria Fire and Rescue Service
• Oxfordshire Fire and Rescue Service
• Scottish Fire and Rescue Service
• West Yorkshire Fire and Rescue Service

Fire Fighter of the Year

• Jim Golder, Suffolk Fire and Rescue Service
• David Millward, Scottish Fire and Rescue Service
• Paul Rich, London Fire Brigade
• Rachael Streeting, Warwickshire Fire and Rescue Service
• Bob Williams, Hertfordshire Fire and Rescue Service

Beneficiary of Courage

• Helen Jones, Bolton
• Victoria Marks, Liskeard
• Maureen Spenley, Merseyside
• Mick Titmarsh, Bradford

Youth Courage Award

• Adam Criddle, Ross on Wye
• Joshua Hopkins, Ben Hool and Lewis Byng, Carmarthen
• Bailie Kershaw, Millom
• Alfie Sharpe, Kilmarnock

Adult Hero

• Alan Chapman, Littleport
• Tracey Jane Marriott, Evesham
• Emma Burles, Hannah King, and Jordan McNulty, Hockley
• Paul Tunnah and Grant Blears, Manchester

Hosted by The Fire Fighters Charity Team of the Year

• Blue Watch Newport, Isle of Wight
• Borders Barmy Army, Galashiels
• Oxford to Bonn Challenge Cycle Team, Oxford
• StrongArm Challenge Team, Tyne and Wear / Durham and Darlington

Supporter of the Year

• Ally Birkett, Aberdeen
• Dom Furby, Birkenshaw
• Andy Hunter, Dunfermline
• Tim West, Huntingdon

Best Newcomer of the Year

• Ashley Brown, Shropshire
• Claire Boer, Norfolk
• Clare Morris, Lancashire
• Kevin McKenzie, London

Corporate Supporter of the Year

• D. Robinson & Recycling Partners, Desborough
• Babcock International Group, London
• Infographics, Edinburgh
• Oxfordshire County Council, Oxford

Lifetime Achievement Award – revealed at the awards in May 2014

The Spirit of Fire Awards are held annually to honour members of the Fire and Rescue Service, and members of the public, by recognising bravery within the fire community and dedication to The Fire Fighters Charity. Now in its ninth year, The Spirit of Fire Awards is the most prestigious event in the fire and rescue calendar, with the aim of raising as much as possible for The Fire Fighters Charity – the UK’s leading provider of life-enhancing services for serving and retired fire service personnel and their families. The event attracts Chief Fire Officers and key purchasing members of the fire and rescue community up and down the country, along with key politicians and celebrity supporters.
To be shortlisted for these awards is a remarkable achievement so please come and show your support by attending on 16 May 2014 at the Westminster Park Plaza in London. To book a place or table, and for more information, please visit

Subscribe to our newsletter

Don't miss new updates on your email
Scroll to Top